Forest Society Blog - News & Features

The President’s Award is presented on special occasions to recognize an extraordinary effort of an individual or organization.

But what if we simply started to move more, not for the sake of moving, but for the pleasure of it?

At the Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests’ 122nd Annual Meeting held in September, Jameson (Jamey) French, of Portsmouth, and Susan Arnold, of Strafford, were elected as new members to the Board of Trustees.

A partnership between groups and agencies helped prevent the New England cottontail from being listed in the Endangered Species Act.

“Midge and Tim are literally and figuratively, trailblazers,” states Jack Savage, president of the Forest Society.

At this year’s 122nd Annual Meeting, the Forest Society was honored to present the Trish Churchill Volunteer of the Year Award to Philip R. (Sam) Chase of Whitefield.

The event kicked off the re-opening of The Rocks after a multi-year campaign to rebuild and renvision the campus.

The Rocks' trails, fields, and parking lots are now OPEN to the public!

Forest Society staff recently joined our conservation partners in helping U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen announce the introduction of the Connecticut River Watershed Partnership Act.