Lost River Reservation Ready for Visitors
The Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests recently held its annual spring cleaning workday at the Lost River Reservation in Woodstock. More than 20 Forest Society land stewards and other volunteers came out to clear trails, construct water bars, paint, rake, and help with landscaping.
Protected in 1912, Lost River is the Forest Society’s oldest forest reservation. Lost River is so-named because the brook draining from Kinsman Notch disappears below the surface into the narrow, steep-walled glacial Gorge. The Gorge is partially filled with immense blocks of granite through which the brook cascades along its subterranean course until it eventually emerges and joins the Pemigewasset River as it flows through Franconia Notch.
Today Lost River is leased and operated by the White Mountains Attractions Association, which works closely with the Forest Society to provide visitors with the opportunity to experience the beauty of Lost River Gorge and its dramatic caves and waterfalls.
The Forest Society owns and manages over 48,000 acres of conservation land in more than 95 New Hampshire communities. These lands were conserved to create opportunities for New Hampshire residents and visitors to appreciate their natural beauty and tranquility, provide habitat for wildlife, protect water quality, and promote sustainable forestry. For more information about Lost River and other Forest Society Reservations, including history and hiking trails, visit www.forestsociety.org/ogol.
Founded in 1901, the Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests is the state’s oldest and largest non-profit land conservation organization. Supported by 10,000 families and businesses, the Forest Society’s mission is to perpetuate the state’s forests by promoting land conservation and sustainable forestry. For more information, visit www.forestsociety.org.